And so it begins…

It finally happened.

I officially weigh 100 pounds more than I did in high school.

It pains me to write those words; it really does. And while there are a number of factors that contributed to that shudder-inducing number on the scale (229.6, ugh), I really don’t have one legitimate excuse as to why I have gained the equivalent of an entire person in eight years.

I’m an only child and very much a perfectionist (these two things are not mutually exclusive), so I’m embarrassed that I’ve let myself gain this much weight. Sure, I’ve lost pounds here and there, but I’ve always gained them back as soon as there was a major stressor or illness in my life (hello, break-ups and mono).

I’m sick of being the token fat girl, the girl who has to shop in the plus-size section while her friends have to get their size-four pants taken in (I love you bitches anyway).

I started this blog as a girl on a mission. I plan to document my journey as I struggle to lose the weight that I gained by gleefully stuffing my face full of fatty goodness. My goal: to lose 50 pounds by 2014. Experts say that healthy weight loss is one to two pounds a week, so it’s definitely do-able.

A writer by profession, I spend a lot of time writing for others. But this blog is just as much for me as for the readers I one day hope to have (Hi, Mom!). I want to be held accountable; I want to learn and grow from this experience; most importantly, I want to have even more motivation to lead a healthier lifestyle. Hopefully, by putting this all on paper (well, web), I can connect with others going through similar journeys.

Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Good luck – you can do it! Being realistic about weight loss is the first step and it sounds like you have a great goal in mind! When I first started my weight loss journey I couldn’t wait to reach my goal weight but what I didn’t realize how much better I would feel with each pound gone. Stick with it and you will see results!

Leave a reply

