I like to move it, move it

Some people hate exercising. Though you would never guess it by looking at my size-16 butt (that I’ve affectionately dubbed my ghetto boo-tay), I actually really like to exercise.

Once upon a time when I was almost 100 pounds lighter, I was always moving. Every week, I had ballet, jazz dance, breakdancing, hip-hop dancing, pilates and two taekwondo classes. Every. Single. Week. Oh, and swimming and baseball in the summer.

Maybe that was a bit excessive (OK, a lot excessive). But I loved it. I love to feel physically strong and fit. The only way I can achieve that feeling is though exercise.

Now, with my full-time job and bustling freelance writing career, I just don’t have time to go to that many fitness classes. Instead, I renewed my gym membership so I could have flexibility. When I first stepped into a gym about three years ago, I was terrified. I didn’t want to be the fat girl that people knew would quit the gym after a few months (to be fair, that turned out to be partially accurate). I didn’t know how to use the machines. I felt awkward and out of place, especially next to the girls with eight-packs.

But you know what? I stuck to it, nerves be damned. Five days a week, I’d be there, plugging away on the elliptical and resistance machines. Next thing I knew, I felt strong again (and had lost 40 pounds, to boot).

I want that feeling back. And after only two weeks  in the gym, it’s already creeping back. Of course, by creeping, I mean that “brace-myself-everytime-I-get-up-because-my-leg-muscles-are-killing-me-oh-God-why-did-I-do-this-to-myself” kind of feeling. But I don’t mind the pain — it reminds me that this journey won’t be easy.

I’m going to make a commitment to update this blog at least twice a week, hopefully more. I know there are a few people already reading it (thanks, guys!). If you’re embarking on a similar weight loss journey, or even if you’re just trying to get a little healthier, drop me a line. At the risk of sounding like a total cheeseball, we can do this together! (Cue the cheesy inspirational music.)

3 thoughts on “I like to move it, move it

  1. Hey this is DaMaris96 from Livestrong just wanted to let you know I will be following you here on your blog, I love blogs like this!!!

  2. Pingback: Abs are made in the kitchen | Reducing waist

Leave a reply

