Miss me?

Sorry for the lack of posts, people. I’ve been working a stupid amount of hours on freelance work in addition to my full-time job, leaving me with zero energy or motivation to work on this blog. But don’t worry — I swear I’ll be back to my normal posting habits soon. You can’t get rid of me that easily. 😉

I’ve already posted a few dinner recipes and now have a ridiculously easy breakfast recipe for you. Let me preface this by saying I used to hate breakfast. I was never hungry when I woke up, leading to bad things later in the day (like 11 a.m. pig-outs on cupcakes. Seriously.).

Once I got in the habit of eating breakfast, however, it was an entirely different story. Now, I can’t function unless I have something in my belly within an hour of waking up. If I’m in a rush, I’ll grab something quick ‘n easy, like a banana and a spoonful of almond butter. If I have more time, I’ll prepare an egg-white veggie omelette or oatmeal (real oatmeal, not that packaged stuff laden with sugar), topped with ground flaxseed, cinnamon and berries. *drool*

This weekend, I tried making a clean version of french toast, which made for a pretty yummy Sunday-morning treat. I present to you…

Clean-eating french toast (cut me some slack, I couldn’t think of a more original name)

Two slices of multi-grain bread (or sprouted, whole-grain, etc.)
Four egg whites
1 Tbsp pure maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
More syrup for topping
Raspberries (or berries of choice)

Directions:
1) Combine egg whites, maple syrup and vanilla, then whisk.
2) Place each bread slice in the bowl to soak up the deliciousness. Ensure that each side of the bread is coated.
3) Plop the bread on a pre-heated griddle or frying pan (I used the latter) on medium heat, then cook for about four or five minutes, flipping once or twice until you see that nice toasty brown colour on each side.
4) Top with remaining maple syrup and berries.
5) Enjoy.

My boyfriend loves three things: video games, Cookie Monster metal (look it up) and raspberries. I was pretty sure he’d like this recipe, and I was right. He even said incredulously, “That was CLEAN?” I think it will be a weekend staple for us.

(Don’t think I’ve reneged on posting my weekly weigh-in, either. I’ll post that tonight or tomorrow. I may have some explaining to do…)

Leave a reply

