I suck.

I totally forgot to post my weigh-in numbers last week — come to think of it, I think I forgot to weigh myself (there’s a first). I promise I’ll post it soon! (P.S. Only four more days until I can exercise! Hallelujah!)

In the meantime, I’ve discovered my new favourite dish, courtesy of Clean Eating magazine’s summer issue. Super tasty and ridiculously easy to make — and it received the boyfriend’s stamp of approval. I’ve adapted the recipe slightly, so it’s not exactly the same as it appears in the mag, but it is still awesome.

Spicy shrimp and bell pepper toss (courtesy of Clean Eating)

Ingredients:
1 lb uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 red onion
2 1/2 cups bell peppers, chopped (I used red, yellow and orange so it looked pretty)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp lime juice
2 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp cumin
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
Olive oil cooking spray
(The recipe didn’t call for it, but I added 1 cup of zucchini because I’ve been on a huge zucchini kick lately.)

Steps:
1. Pre-heat oven to 425. (You can use a grill, too, but I was lazy and didn’t want to set up the BBQ.)
2. In a large bowl, combine shrimp, veggies and garlic.
3. Add lime juice and spices, then toss to coat. Set cilantro aside.
4. Here’s where the fun part comes in. Cut four 12″X16″ pieces of aluminum foil. Mist each piece with cooking spray, then divide mixture evenly into the centre of each one, forming a mound. Bring the short edges of the foil together. Fold inward a few times along each long edge to seal.
5. Place packets on a large baking sheet in the oven. Bake for about 15 minutes.
6. Allow packets to rest five minutes before serving. Transfer contents of packets to serving plates and top with cilantro.
7. Nom nom nom!

We made basmati rice as a base for the dish, and it was delish. True story.

Leave a reply

