Buttery goodness

Every time I go camping, I let loose. I don’t watch what I eat at all, which usually leads to a sore tummy and lots of regret when I get home. This camping trip was no different. I got back last night and feel like ass today. Let’s just say I’m chugging tons of water and subsiding on lettuce in an effort to flush out the crap I ate for the past four days.

Usually, my camping suppers consist of hot dogs erry night (unless I’m with the boyfriend, because he likes having steak and the like). This year, my friends and I wanted to make some healthy-ish foods, so we tried a new recipe. Aside from the half-stick of butter (I know, I cringed when I read that too), this recipe was just veggies and tasted like a little pan of heaven. Seriously, it was amazing, so much so that we all agreed we’d make it at home because we couldn’t wait until the next camping trip to make it again.

The original recipe can be found here, but I adapted it slightly based on what was available at the local grocery store.

Veggies in a big ol’ pan full o’ butter

  • 1 bag of mini potatoes, halved
  • 1 large yellow onion, cut in pieces
  • 1 spaghetti squash, cut into chunks
  • 1 package of fresh mushrooms, cut in half
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 3/4 cup water
  • sea salt, to taste
  • black pepper, to taste

The how-to:

Pour water into a disposable aluminum pan, then add veggies. Top with sliced butter, salt and pepper. Cover tightly with foil and cook for 30 minutes over an open fire or until potatoes are tender.

The veggies’ flavours all melded together along with the butter. (This bad boy makes about eight to 10 servings, so that’s how we justified using that much butter.) We pretty much inhaled it for dinner, then re-heated the leftovers over the fire the following night.

I am afraid to weigh myself after the camping trip, but I’m going to force myself tomorrow morning so I can assess the damage…

 

2 thoughts on “Buttery goodness

  1. Sounds good! There are also situations where I totally just don’t pay attention to eating healthy as well, like the vacation I just went on. It’s kind of nice to give yourself a break once in a while though!

Leave a reply

