Not a pole lotta fun

I always like trying new kinds of exercise, so, thanks to a sweet Groupon deal, my friend and I recently enrolled in a pole fitness class.

Yes, that’s right, I am learning the art of the ‘ripper.

I’ve done pole-dancing classes before (for bachelorette parties and the like), but this class is different in that it focuses not only on the actual dancing part of the equation, but also on fitness. Holy, jeebus, it is a good work-out. Even my (super-fit) friend complained that her arms and shoulders were sore after class.

I have years and years of dance training under my belt and it usually takes me all of 10 seconds to pick up choreography, so I figured this class would be a breeze,  Apparently, though, my dancing skills do not extend to pole dancing. (In other words, I suck.)

One of the reasons? Definitely my chub. One of the moves involves kicking your leg up and wrapping it around the top of the pole so you’re hanging upside down. Uh, sure, I could do that — if I weighed 100 pounds. All of the thin girls in the class could easily do it. Us chubsters? Not so much. I had to swing my leg around my ginormous belly when kicking it up and then lift 230 pounds of body weight using just my arms. It ain’t easy! I felt a huge sense of achievement when I touched the pole with my toe, let alone wrapped my foot around it.

Fact: It is hard to pole dance (mad props to those women). Add an extra 100 pounds to the equation and you’ve got a recipe for disaster.

 

Leave a reply

