Weigh-in Wednesday

Starting weight (again): 255.2 lbs
Last week: 250.0 lbs
Current weight: 246.2 lbs
Weight lost this week: 3.8 lbs

Though I’ve touched on this in previous posts, I haven’t really tackled something that plagues so many people trying to lose weight: emotional eating.

When I’m sad/mad/(insert emotion here), I head straight for the fridge. I think much of my emotional eating stems from my childhood habits. If I fell and skinned my knee, I’d eat a popsicle. If I was sad that my crush didn’t like me (jerk), I’d eat a piece of cake to mend my prepubescent broken heart. Those habits have sadly carried into my adult life and resulted in a highly attractive triple chin.

(Also working against me growing up was the fact that I’m Ukrainian, which means that a) I was always surrounded by amazing food like perogies, cabbage rolls and sausage (drool) and b) I was always well-fed. Our family motto is “If it moves, feed it.” Yep.)

I’ve been fairly open about my struggles with depression and an anxiety disorder. Unlike some people who lose weight when they’re going through a bout of depression, I tend to swing the opposite way — thanks, emotional eating. It’s a habit that I haven’t quite broken yet, but I’m workin’ on it.

6 thoughts on “Weigh-in Wednesday

  1. Hmmm what are you eating when you emotionally eat? If its junk then why don’t you try removing the temptation in place of healthy foods you love? One of my biggest downfalls in my weight loss journey is overeating. So instead I just eat food that fills me up but doesn’t carry many calories. Like a banana or half of a baby watermelon. I love eating them and they fill me up. Then I drink water on top of it to ice the cake so I’m full to the point where I can’t eat anymore. I know it sounds crazy but its worked for me. I was 240 lbs last year now I’m starting this year off 210 lbs and hoping to get into the 100’s. If I can do it with all the temptation around me and junk food, then you can do it and don’t beat yourself up about snacking or eating bad foods. Just continue to improve from then on. No ones perfect 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment! I used to reach for junk food but we don’t have much in our home anymore, so lately it’s been healthy-ish food (crackers, hummus, etc.). I already drink a ton of water but I will definitely steal your trick next time I’m upset about something. It’s hard to re-train the mind when it’s been conditioned to think of food as a band-aid to life’s problems! Bah. Great job on your weight loss so far — keep up the great work and thank you for your kind words!

  2. Congrats on the weight loss so far. Any loss is a great achievement difficult as every single little pound is, it’s all in the right direction. I’m a terrible emotional eater – i would eat eat eat and never feel full, but now if I want to eat something that i know is bad for me I just go for a walk or to the gym, something active. I find that doing something positive boosts my mood and makes me not want to fill my body with rubbish. If you get bored of plain old water, why not try adding a 1/4 fresh lime and some fresh mint – it takes like a mojito and looks so much more appetizing!

    • Thank you so much. I like your idea of taking a walk when I get a craving. And I’m definitely trying the mojito water — that sounds delish! I am going to make some when I get home. Good luck on your journey!

Leave a reply

